More Resources for Inventors

I have written a few posts about resources, many of which are free, readily available to assist inventors in developing their businesses. Below is the most recent post:

Resources Galore for Inventors – July 2016

The July post described resources that were specific to invention – people and companies that could help you move forward with your inventive enterprise.

In today’s post, I am going to take a broader perspective – resources for inventors and entrepreneurs. These are resources quite helpful not only to inventors, but to entrepreneurs in general – just about anyone who is operating their own small business, full or part-time.

Walking the Beach – Hoping to Find Sand

 

Saying to yourself, “gosh, I wish there was a resource to help me with x for my small business,” is akin to strolling across an ocean shore wishing you could find some sand. Look around. Great resources are everywhere!

I am an engineer, but not well-versed in software development.

So, when I needed a new website, I always found a developer – and spent a good deal of time and money paying that person to create my cyber vision for me. I kept thinking “there has got to be a better way.” It turns out there is: Squarespace and Weebly are both capable websites designed to enable you to build your own website, by yourself! You will have to invest some time learning to use them, but then you, like me, will be able to help yourself. I am especially fond of Squarespace as it seems to be very feature rich – but do your own due diligence.

Want some more great resources?

This is a short sampling, there are hundreds of great resources quietly waiting to be discovered in Cyberspace. I have personally used Aweber, Survey Monkey, PickFu, Unsplash, and Upwork for my projects, among others.

Want More? Learn from the Experts for Free – on Podcasts!

About 6 months ago, I found myself too often dwelling in the Netherland of negative thinking. I needed some positive jolt to charge up my daily entrepreneurial journey. I quit listening to the news – especially political news – and started listening to podcasts, specifically business podcasts.

What a transformation!

I have learned more about resources for entrepreneurs in the last 6 months than probably the last 5 years. Business podcasters interview business owners, entrepreneurs and other fascinating guests who share their experiences, both good and bad. Nothing is better than spending hours, effectively, learning from amazing entrepreneurs as they share their tips and tricks for success. Use the app you most prefer to get to them – I like NPR One as it is quite user friendly and easy to use.

Below are some of my favorite podcasts:

  • EOFire – a daily podcast of interesting entrepreneurs – only about 30 minutes each
  • This Week in Startups – Jason Calacanis is an amazing Silicon Valley success story
  • EntreLeadership – from Dave Ramsey’s group
  • Solopreneur – with proudly ‘unemployable’ host Michael O’Neal

There are dozens of others, but the above list is a great place to start. My personal favorite is EOFire – host John Lee Dumas, a phenomenal success story himself, will ‘ignite’ you into action.

By the way, if you would like to have a spreadsheet full of links to many resources for free, please drop me a line to alan-beckley@msn.com. Give me your email and I will send you the list.

Stay tuned!

About ideaworth

Ideaworth is a blog on a variety of invention topics to help inventors to avoid pitfalls and to find resources to help them in their quests for success. Alan Beckley's first invention, the Wonder Wallet is a DRTV hit, selling on television, HSN and available in Walmart and other major retailers.
This entry was posted in Invention, Inventor resources, Podcasts, Surveys, Website for your product. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Resources for Inventors

  1. Pingback: Business Success Secrets – for Free | ideaworth

Leave a Reply

